Aubergine Dreams

While browsing on the J.Crew website, I noticed these gems below:

J.Crew Toothpick Ankle Cord in Dark Aubergine

J.Crew Toothpick Ankle Cord in Dark Aubergine

They're even cuter on!

They're even cuter on!

I’m hoping that the color in real life is a darker shade of purple.  I’m thinking closer to the Aubergine walls at Draper’s Cafe at the Greenbrier.

Said aubergine walls during a lunch in the summer of 2008

Said aubergine walls during a lunch in the summer of 2008

Since going to the Greenbrier at a young age, I have loved the decor.  However there was something special about those walls at Draper’s.  I think it was the combination of the walls and the fabulous black and white photograph of Dorothy Draper with feathers in her hair.  I was always intrigued by that photo, mostly because of the hairstyle.

The other day my mom said to me “It feels like fall in the air.  You know what that means, right?  We should be going somewhere.”

Immediately, I knew the “somewhere.”  For quite some time, a chill in the air meant it was time to go to the Greenbrier.  Every fall, usually right before, or on, my birthday we would accompany my dad to a conference at the Greenbrier.  We went every year, but then things started happening like my brother and I started to have more pressing extracurricular activities in high school, I moved away for college, the economy took a downturn and extra expenses like conferences to maintain friendly relations were cut.

Last summer, we went to the Greenbrier as a family for the first time in a while.

Outside with my dad & brother

Outside with my dad & brother

Mom & Dad at tea

Mom & Dad at tea

There are perks to the Greenbrier in the summer.  Like the outside pool being open and being able to enjoy outdoor sports (if you are my brother, but not if you are me. 🙂 )

But in the fall there are special perks like the nip in the air after dinner.  Fall fashion at the Ralph Lauren store.  Throwing on layers to walk out to the Artist’s Colony.  A game of bowling before tea.

I love going to the Greenbrier in the summer.  It really is wonderful.

…But there’s nothing quite like the Greenbrier in the fall.

Leave a comment

Filed under Belinda

Leave a comment